Sea Kings Hybrid Baseball/Hockey/Goalie Jersey

 

sea-kings-1

OK, so I haven’t been doing much sewing lately, I’ve been busy working on some paintings instead.  But I came across several jerseys I made a while back that I never posted or did anything about, so figured its time to write about them here.

I enjoy making these weird fictional jerseys, hybrids of different materials, sports, and eras.  I’ve mentioned a number of times before how I like hockey but think baseball has the best jerseys.  So at some point I decided to blend the two, as if a hockey team had their jerseys made by a baseball jersey manufacturer.

This one is for a team called the Sea Kings, again using my favoured whale-based team names and logos.  Of course, the whale is wearing a crown, and I also added a crown to the number on the back.  The jersey body is made from a red pinstripe baseball polyester material, with a combination baseball collar and hockey lace-up top.

sea-kings-2

I’ve made a number of jerseys with the detachable forearms.  This was based on observing old hockey sweaters that were shredded from the wrist to the elbow, from all of the sticks coming up.  I envisioned a jersey with durable canvas inserts that were laced in with twine, so they could be replaced when worn out.  Although canvas is so durable maybe they would never need to be replaced.  I used a contrasting teal colour, as I love red and teal together, it gives it a really nice ’50s sort of look.  The teal crown on the white with red pinstripe material is a bit of a nod to the Phillies jersey, which I really like.  It reminds me of one of those old-fashioned popcorn boxes, or maybe a striped paper pop cup.

Since this is also a goalie jersey, I added an external pad to the catching arm.  If you look at pictures of early goalies from the ’30s, ’40s, and I think even ’50s, they would often add a pad on the outside of the jersey to protect the delicate inside of the elbow.  I really like jerseys that have external padding, so I make a point of trying to add these whenever I can.  I laced it in with jute twine for a nice vintage look.

It must be at least two years since I made this, not sure why I waited so long to write about it, I think it looks quite nice.

I think I have at least 4 or 5 more jerseys like this that I haven’t written about, so check back soon for more if you like.  There’s a couple of REALLY odd ones if you want to see me push some jersey boundaries a bit.

dsc_0067

Leave a Reply

